PO Box 1612 • Station A • Rutland, VT  05701-1612

802-773-7180



VERMONT GOLF ASSOCIATION

Board of Directors Log-In

info at vtga.org

E-Revision Rules Questions from 2017

March 15, 2017 e-Revision Question:


A player's starting time is listed on the official starting sheet at 9:00 am.  He does not arrive at the tee until 9:00:45 am and claims that, as it is still 9:00 am, he is not late for his starting time.  What is the ruling?


a) No penalty as he arrived before 9:01 am.

b) He is disqualified.

c) He is penalized two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play unless the Committee determines that exceptional circumstances prevented him from starting on time.

******************************************************************************


C) He is penalized two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play.

(Rule 6-3a; Decision 6-3a/a)

When a starting time is listed as 9:00 am, the starting time is deemed to be 9:00:00 am the the player is subject to penalty under Rule 6-3a if he is not present and ready to play at 9:00:00 am.  Therefore, the player incurred a penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play unless the Committee determines that exceptional circumstances prevented him from starting on time (Exception to Rule 6-3)



March 1, 2017 e-Revision Question:


Two players playing in the same event at different times on the same day caddie for each other.  Is this permissible?


a) Yes, this is permissible.

b) No, both players are disqualified.

c) No, the player with the later time is disqualified because he has gained an unfair advantage.

******************************************************************************


a) This is permissible!

(Decision 6-4/8)



February 15, 2017 e-Revision Question:


In a four-ball stroke play competition your partner is attending the flag stick and touches the putting green with the end of the flag stick while pointing to where he thinks your putt should be aimed. What is the ruling?


a) There is no penalty.

b) You incur a penalty of one stroke.

c) You incur a penalty of two strokes.

d) Your partner is disqualified from the hole.

******************************************************************************


c) You incur a penalty of two strokes.

(Rule 8 - 2b)





February 1, 2017 e-Revision Question:



A player may advise a fellow competitor that relief is available because his stance for a stroke is in casual water.


True or False?

******************************************************************************


True.  A player may give information on the Rules, but may not make a suggestion that could influence a fellow competitor in determining how to play the shot.

It would be different if the player said “You should take relief because you are standing in casual water”.

  Definition of Advice.





Every month  in our e-Revision newsletter we’ll include a Rules situation for  you to try to figure out. This a great way to test your understanding of the Rules of Golf. Try to figure out the answer without peeking below first - you can use your Rules Book and the Decisions on the Rules to help you get to the answer. (If you don’t have a Decisions Book, you can find the on the USGA website www.usga.org or download the Rules of Golf app to your smartphone.


Not getting the bi-monthly e-Revision newsletter?  Click here to sign up!


We’re happy to answer any questions!  Send them to rules@vtga.org